Updates

Day 33 – 35 + Weekend

Ah, I have been remiss in my blogging duties. Sad day.

Things have gotten a bit more busy around here. Namely, I finished about as much of the Rails course as I’m going to and I’m starting on my final project. Ben, a former student from two classes ago, is going to work with me on this venture.

We decided to do it all in Node.js and Express. We are going to work on creating a game that can be played by multiple people while they use their phone as a controller. To do this we need a lot of real time action and Node.js and Express are really good at that. Rails is really great for creating deep websites with lots of pages, content, and big databases.

So Friday and all day yesterday we worked at my house. One of my roommates is an Express and Node.js wizard so he helped us get off the ground. A lot of our time is simple researching and learning how to do things. Which makes progress slow but we figure (and hope) that once we overcome the learning curve things should pick up.

I’ve found out that I really prefer to work at home lately for a few reasons: there are less distractions (except in the evening), we have access to someone who is familiar with Express (nobody really at the Dojo does), and I have full access to use the house’s 46″ tv as a second monitor. Woo!

Ok, I’ll try and keep up with my posting duties now that things are getting busy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

